Daily Archives: October 28, 2010

Tourism, revisited….

Thrombocytopenia. 

It’s a big word isn’t it?  Repeat after me throm·bo·cy·to·pe·ni·a. Good job. I’ve only had to say it out loud a dozen  times to be sure I could pronounce it correctly.

“What does it mean?” you ask. 

Please try to keep up, young grasshopper – it’s been a long day………

 Thrombocytopenia (have you googled it yet? You know you want to.)  oh alright, I’ll tell you –thrombocytopenia means low platelet count.  Platelets, really? hmmm,  you say and what do platelets do exactly?  Yes, you – I’m asking  you because I really don’t have to time google all these medical terms……

oh alright, These are red blood cells (ignore the fact they’re purple….) According to WIKIpedia the platelets are the little spots I circled in red.

 They help your blood to clot.

If you have enough of them, that is, which apparently Capt Snuggles doesn’t. I mean he did, then he didn’t, then he did, but now he doesn’t.  

Keep up, grasshopper….

Add this to the long list of things that have kept us incarcerated for the past 70 + days and you guessed it – we landed back in the PICU

There was much fanfare heralding our arrival. That PICU sure knows how to throw a welcome home  back party.

You know you are loved when the PICU Attending and PICU Fellow both change your poopie diaper.

Capt Snuggles has that effect on people.

It was very disheartening to have to go back to the PICU, no doubt about it, but not unexpected.  Several things happened between last night and this morning to warrant our return. And while I was hopeful, he would straighten up and fly right – I was also realistic in our expectations of his care. 

And I was holding out for the room with a view….

Categories: Life | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

