All Things Snuggly

13 weeks.

I know, I know. I’m like a broken record. 8 weeks gone, 9 weeks gone, 10 weeks gone, blah, blah, blah. Our goal of being home by Halloween, gone. Home by Veteran’s Day, gone. Thanksgiving, not an option. Christmas? It’ll be close and that’s only if all goes very well. Like, he starts behaving perfectly, yesterday.

(Which did not happen, btw…)

So, I sit here and try to focus on the positive.  Thanksgiving is coming.  A time for reflection, of spending time with family and  giving thanks  for the world around us.  And yes, there can be positive in all this.

Here’s some things I am thankful for:

I am thankful for 13 weeks without having to wash dishes.

I am thankful for the approx 500 diapers of Rainman’s that I did not have to change.

I am thankful for the 180+ loads of laundry that Hub & Grandma got to wash instead of me.

I am thankful for the toys, games and books that I did not have to yell at the boys to clean up.

I am thankful that I do not have to cook on Thanksgiving.

I am thankful for all the dirt and mud that was tracked through the house that Hub & Grandma got to mop up.

I am thankful that my house is still standing (it is, isn’t it?) and the animals are still alive. ( They are, aren’t they?)

I am thankful that I did not have to watch Barney, Teletubbies or Thomas the Train for the 1,987,476th time.

But mostly, after 13 weeks, I am most thankful for this pudgy smile.

 

Aren't those teeth cute?

Amen.

 

 

 

 

.

Categories: Life | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 18 Comments

Post navigation

18 thoughts on “All Things Snuggly

  1. He’s so adorable! Glad you’re able to find the silver linig…and I so hope you’re home by Christmas!

    Thanks also for posting about the Ronald McDonald House “Give a Hand” program! I work for Southwest Airlines and our corporate charity is the RM House. I’d loev to join in on my blog, but hadn’t heard about it until now. Look for my hand soon! 🙂

    (Found you through SITS BlogFrog, by the way!)

  2. Hi.. I just found your blog.. Following on FB.. 🙂

  3. AMEN Prayers and good wishes are here for you 🙂

  4. Aw. I so hope you are right and you are home by Xmas. What a sweet child. Treasure that baby and have a lovely holiday.

    New follower here http://www.thriftymommastips.blogspot.com/

  5. That is a beautiful post! Amen 🙂

  6. I wish I had someone to do my laundry:) that face is quite adorable and those teeth are def. cute! God Bless….I finally got your link from Twitter because all the other ones were’nt working…weird!

    glad we found ya though:) enjoy the weekend!

  7. Absolutely no words for what you and your family has been through. I so admire your strength. Sending prayers your way.

  8. He is just gorgeous, what a fab little smile. I hope you make it home for Christmas and all goes well. Jen (ICLW 114)

  9. Here from ICLW 🙂 What a beautiful post. I try very hard to be grateful and thankful, especially when things are difficult. And the more I practice, regardless, the easier it is for me to have hope and happiness even in times of difficulty. Hang in there and keep posting – we’ll keep reading.

  10. I hope you make it home for the holidays! He will definitely be worth the wait! Happy ICLW!

  11. In the midst of trouble you have so much to be thankful for and you show that. Hugs to you.

  12. This is a beautiful post, I’m so glad I found your blog yesterday. You have been through so much, I just want to jump through the computer and give you a hug (hope that doesn’t sound stalkerish) or help you get through this somehow. Hang in there and keep holding onto all the things you can be thankful for.

  13. That *is* a beautiful smile. And I’ll add my thoughts to the others who think, if we all pray hard enough, you’ll be home for Christmas. One day at a time … your strength is amazing.

  14. Your son is just gorgeous and what a beautiful smile! I have just read some of your introductions and I am so sorry for what you have been through in losing your son and everything else you have endured but you sound like an amazing woman and an even more amazing mother! Wishing you and your family all the best!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  15. New to your blog. Our daughter is 3 months old and has CPSI (UCD). She’s been listed for over 2 months now (moved to status 1b over a month ago). So grateful to have found your blog. Thanks for sharing your story.

  16. Pingback: Cytokine Madness « transplanted thoughts

  17. Pingback: Intubation #6 | transplanted thoughts

  18. Pingback: 5.3 million. And I don’t mean the Mega-Millions | transplanted thoughts

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

