Intubation #5

I want to blame someone, anyone.

The Chaperone for not paying enough attention, the Fellow for not giving enough sedation meds, myself for not being diligent enough.  But in the end, I know it was an accident. One minute David was intubated, the next, not so much.

At 9:30 this morning, David’s breathing tube slid right out of his airway. The nurse was on one side of him, I was on the other. He started to wiggle because he wasn’t sedate enough and then he was crying, gasping for a breathe.

After 3 hours of sleep, I was not prepared for this.

Not. Prepared. At. ALL.

Our days have become a slap-stick comedy of misfortune. A Three Stooges short gone horribly wrong. I’m willing to take a frying pan to the head if we could just get to a better place. Just a little bit better? Please??  I’m not greedy.

So, Capt Snuggles is extubated. The sedation meds have to be stopped. The decision is whether to re-intubate or leave him on the high flow nasal cannula. The decision is shadowed by his extreme pain involvement. And the fact that he needs his wounds re-dressed, which will inevitably cause him more pain.

They tried. They tried to dress his wounds without heavy sedation. If I could scratch my eyes out to eliminate the image of his pain, I would. I have no words ( at least none I want to share with you, dear reader..) for the events of today.

Suffice to say, at the end of the day, dear Capt. Snuggles is intubated. Heavily sedated and wrapped from stem to stern with thick, soft bandages.

If only life was as simple as a pie in the face.

Categories: Life | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Intubation #5

  1. Amy….my heart goes out to you and your baby boy. i could not imagine what you are going through. it truely breaks my heart. you and David are in my thoughts and prays.

  2. oops…prayers.

  3. I am soooooooooooooooooooo sorry you are going through this. Now, I was doing my whole Iron Commenting thing and saw your blog, and knew, I had to come back and read more. As a mom of kids with medical issues, my heart goes out to you… and your lil one… I am going to read more.
    ICLW

  4. Ugh, my heart just breaks for you every time I read your posts. I don’t know what to say anymore but will just continue to send strength and hope your way.

  5. We are here.

    We are listening and we are hurting along with you.

  6. Sairah

    Oh my, Amy! I’m so sorry! I know that is insufficient, but just wanted to let you know I was thinking about you guys….((((HUGS)))).

    -Sairah

  7. Amy,

    Sending you lots of hugs and positive energy from New Jersey! I was so sorry to read what you’ve been going through. Hang in there. I’m sending lots of love to your son. We are rooting for him here!

    Veronica Samuels

  8. A Roselyn

    Amy – Although we do not know one another. You and your family are in our thoughts and prayers.
    A

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

