My Christmas Miracle

It’s been over a month since I was able to post pictures of Capt Snuggles. During that time, we almost lost him.  From head to toe, the GVHD ravaged his body.

His skin, his gut, his eyes.

They told me he might not make it.

They told me to be prepared.

But what they didn’t tell me was to hang on to my tiny shreds of hope. They did not tell me to get my hopes up every time some little bit of good news was delivered. They thought he would give up and we would have to accept that.

David hasn’t given up.

In fact, I’m bursting to be able to utter these 3 little words.

He’s getting better.

What beautiful fingers....

Yesterday, we completed his dressing change in about an hour, 2 Chaperones and NO proprofol. That’s right, NO additional sedation was needed to change his dressings.

I am AMAZED at his progress.

Simply Amazed.

Of course, what better time than Christmas to show off this amazing progress.

I can’t ever show you the “before” pictures. Yes, I have a couple. They are too heartbreaking for me to share. Just trust me when I say……

These piggies are absolutely Amazing.

 

This little piggy went to the market.....

Thank you to everyone who faithfully reads our story.  I am honored to have made so many friends through the simple sharing of our journey.

A journey that, really, is just beginning.

Merry Christmas to everyone.

Categories: Life | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “My Christmas Miracle

  1. Just beautiful. This is truly a miracle and it brought tears to my eyes. God bless you and your beautiful family this holiday and for the New Year.

  2. Wonderful news, what beautiful little feet. Hope the Christmas miracles continue. Your strength is inspiring.

  3. Jill (Jurkonis) Lesch

    SO good to check in and hear this fantastic news. I am sure that he has your spirit – the full of hope, full of strength, full of love spirit that comes out in all you write. Merry, Merry Christmas from Villa Park! 🙂

  4. Luann

    What a wonderful Christmas gift for all of us who read your blog and pray for Capt. Snuggles. May God himself bring you unending comfort and indescribable joy this Christmas!

  5. There are absolutely no words to describe the joy I feel for you, Captain Snuggles, and your family!! The sight of his precious pinkies brought tears to my eyes and will be what I think of throughout this Christmas season. I truly cannot wait to see the pictures of his little smiling face. Blessings and joy to you and your sweet, sweet baby.

  6. I just woke up this morning: just walked out to my hyper, bouncing off the walls, already on my nerves after five minutes, children and these piggie pics made me stop and hug and kiss them and thank God for the tiny miracles.
    I am so thankful you have this hope today, Amy. So thankful that you got your Christmas miracle. You deserve it. (((BIG HUGS)))
    Merry Christmas, my beautiful friend.

  7. Hip, hip, hurray for Capt. Snuggles! There is no better medicine than a mama’s love. I’m so happy for you all! Have a peaceful holiday!

  8. Stacy

    Aww what beautiful hands and feet! God is good! May he continue to bless you and your family this holiday season! I hope you have a wonderful Christmas and an even better New Year!

  9. Jennifer Canter Vogland

    What amazing news! Enjoy your miracle!

  10. This made my Christmas! 🙂 Keep it up, David!!!

    Veronica 🙂

  11. Patty

    So happy to read your latest post tonight and find good news! I hope that you and your family were able to enjoy a little bit of Christmas today. Praying that the good news will continue and that you will also come to know the One that came to earth to bring good news to all of us. Keep fighting for that little boy. You have proven time and time again that you are his best advocate. Thanks for sharing your story with us all. Merry Christmas!

  12. So very glad to see and hear your news. When I stumbled upon your blog and read of David’s condition, I was very worried for you, it is such an awful thing, GVHD. What a strong little guy he must be.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

