Daily Archives: January 6, 2011

5.3 million. And I don’t mean the Mega-Millions

Can you imagine 5.3 million, well, anything? I can’t. It’s a number that doesn’t compute for me. So when the doctors come in and tell me that David’s count for his adenovirus is just that, 5.3 million. It’s like a kick in the gut. How can there be 5.3 million of anything in my almost 8 month old son? It’s a staggering number.

And I’ll be honest – it scares the crap out of me.

Consider this: his adenovirus counts were in the 1,500 – 2,000 range when his GVHD announced itself back in late-September. That made him sick for a solid 6 weeks. Then he got better and the adenovirus counts came down. They were consistently less than 625 for several weeks. During most of December, the adeno counts were relatively low. But the T-cells from hell wouldn’t go away and the campath was administered. Since then, the adenovirus has crept up slowly.

Until this past weekend, when we started seeing the counts go up by leaps and bounds. 5,000 turned to 300,000, turned to 1.5 million, turned to 5.3 million. All within 4 days – that’s been his running counts since Sunday.

This number is just beyond my comprehension. It explains the worsening of his lungs, it explains the fevers and the elevated heart-rates. It explains the drops in hemoglobin and platelets. It explains why after fighting the GVHD for the past 5 weeks and getting better – really and truly getting better, he’s back on the edge of a mighty big black hole.

A black hole, I’m scared he’s not strong enough to find his way out of.

He’s so weak. And in turn, it makes me feel weak. Imagine if your newborn baby weighed 20 lbs, had seven teeth and wore size 4 diapers. That describes David. An almost eight month old newborn babe. All arms and legs and wobbly head. A newborn babe that can’t be held or comforted, snuggled or consoled.

It’s been almost 8 weeks since he was up and out of bed, almost 8 weeks since the last time me or anyone else was able to hold him.

I can’t even begin to imagine what the lack of touch has done to him. It’s not that I don’t touch him – I do. I try, anyway. But for all those weeks that he didn’t have any skin – I couldn’t hold him or touch him in a comforting way. It gives you a whole new perceptive on the term sensory deprivation. He hasn’t looked at me in weeks. I talk to him and sometimes his eyes will flutter open, but he is unfocused and no longer tracks my voice.

*sigh*

So much, every day. Day after day. I know, I know….

Every Damn Day, Just Do IT!

It’s an excellent mantra and one I am still focused on. But.

Some days it’s just hard, so overwhelmingly hard. Damn IT!

Treatment for adenovirus is the exact opposite of treatment for the GVHD. So as soon as they lower his immunosuppression to allow his body to fight the virus – the GVHD is at risk of flaring up again. And while I say risk, you know I really mean it’s more than likely going to happen.

Because the kicker is (well, ONE of the kickers) – shortly after snapping his beauty shot yesterday, a subtle, red bumpy rash started up over his head and face. Today it’s traveled down his chest and across his belly. I started to type that the rash was faint, but after further inspection – it’s not so faint. He’s definitely developed a new rash.

AND, this is the REAL kicker – that 5.3 million I’m struggling to comprehend?

It just came back over 15 million.

*crashing……..darkness…….spinning out of control……*

Around and around and around we go. Will it stop? I don’t know.

All I can say is…..

Every Damn Day, Capt Snuggles Just Does IT.

And if he can do it, so can I.

Categories: Life | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 15 Comments

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

