There is no simple fix

“We are doing everything we possibly can.” These are the words you just don’t want to hear. Isn’t there something? Something else to make the bleeding stop?

He’s had 3 blood transfusions in less than 24 hours. Let me clarify – usually he gets 1/2 unit per transfusion (1/2 can of soda)- today he got a full unit per transfusion (full 12oz can of soda) . He’s had platelets x 6, cryo x 6 and plasma. They started him on octreotide , a drug used to constrict blood flow to the gut when a patient has a massive GI bleed.

They can’t seem to get the bleeding under control.

It’s been a long night, into a longer day, into yet another long night. I’m scared of falling asleep, only to wake to the sound of him vomiting blood or worse. The sound of doctors and nurses and respiratory therapists all crowding into the room because he’s crashing. I want to be awake if he should start crashing.

*sigh*

I’m going to pull my chair alongside him tonite and read aloud whatever I can find. It’s going to be a very long night.

Categories: Life | Tags: , , , , | 24 Comments

Post navigation

24 thoughts on “There is no simple fix

  1. Samantha

    My thoughts and prayers are with you and captin snuggled tonight.

  2. I have nothing but HUGE hugs and prayers for you!

  3. Wendy

    Sending my prayers to Heaven for Captain Snuggles and you this evening. My heart is reaching out to both of you. I only know you through this journal but I have been praying and you have been on my mind each day.

  4. As always, you are in my thoughts, and I am rooting for David, still hoping for a miracle. If, at some point during this long night, you feel gentle pressure, that’ll be me giving you a hug. I hope you can feel the love and support all around you, and draw strength from that.
    Keep the faith, my friend. Or if you find that you cannot, I will keep the faith for you.
    Kirsten

  5. mooney=mc2

    I’m so sorry my friend. I wish I knew more what to say. I pray that David does not suffer tonight. That poor sweet baby. What a little fighter. Just like his Mama.
    {hugs}

    Mindy

  6. beingmekirrily

    Shocking. Poor little darlin. If there is any mercy however small for you, I hope you find it tonight.

  7. Thinking of you tonight. I cannot imagine going through everything you are without your family with you. Praying for comfort for both of you.

  8. Many prayers for you and your little one tonight.

  9. Amie Ernst

    Amy – may Gods peace and presence surround you and David tonight. He is a mighty warrior whose body is wearing down from the fight but his heart and soul must be so full of love to continue the fight. You are both in our prayers here at home and at our church as a whole tomorrow.

    Love and Prayers,
    Amie

  10. My heart is with you both tonight. May it be filled with quiet mercy & peace.

  11. I’m praying David.

  12. I know you only through your blogs, but I feel as though I know you and your precious boy intimately. Your family, your little angel, are in my prayers daily.
    I wanted to share with you this scripture from Matthew 18:
    12 “What do you think? If a man owns a hundred sheep, and one of them wanders away, will he not leave the ninety-nine on the hills and go to look for the one that wandered off? 13 And if he finds it, truly I tell you, he is happier about that one sheep than about the ninety-nine that did not wander off. 14 In the same way your Father in heaven is not willing that any of these little ones should perish.

    God has your precious little one in his arms, and he hears the prayers of the thousands of people that are offering them up on your behalf. You and this precious child are loved by so many. Be still and know that He is God.

  13. Praying for you, and I’m offering up my Rosary for your little man tonight. I’m enlisting all the prayer warriors I can for David tonight. My heart is with you as you read to your baby, may it be a peaceful and calm evening.

  14. May the situation improve quickly. I am thinking of you.

  15. I will continue to keep you and yours in my thoughts and prayers. Much love.

  16. sharon

    Still hoping. How I wish you could pick him up and cuddle him quietly.

    xoxoxoxox

  17. Hey, I am here working on my blog – I can’t sleep – so if you want to chat send me an e-mail and maybe we can meet and chat over on FB. I am praying for your little man. Tell him I said no more crashes tonight. There are no words to comfort you during this time, so if I can be of any help by chatting on FB to get you through, just let me know – I would shoot over my cell number, but my battery is too low right now. Maybe in an hour it will be charged enough. Let me know if I can help.
    Prayin

    God bless, Diane

  18. It’s morning for me, still night for you. Praying for you.

  19. Thinking of you every minute and hoping good things happened during your sleepless night.

  20. Thinking of you and David. Thanks so much for keeping us updated. I hope you got to get a little sleep last night.

    Veronica

  21. Jennifer Canter Vogland

    I cannot even imagine how helpless you must feel. Stay strong!

  22. I just wanted you to know that I think about you often. I will continue to send you good thoughts and prayers!

  23. Still here. Still reading. Still rooting!

  24. As the others have said, you are being prayed for by individuals as well as churches. Our church is praying. I’m praying, trusting that God will give you strength for the task at hand.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

