Inspiration

Inspiration:

a) the action or power of moving the intellect or emotion

b) the act of influencing or suggesting opinions

c) the quality or state of being inspired

d) Captain Snuggles

Inspiration

Today is the day.

Today kicks off a number of blood drives and individual blood donations. Today is the day that friends around North America will start donating blood in honor of Capt Snuggles.

It brings tears to my eyes, to think that so many people have been affected by David’s story. That so many people are willing to take time out of their busy lives to do a good deed, in honor of someone they’ve never even met.  That in itself is inspiration. My friend Kirsten, who is leading the Canadian contingent with her blood donation today, left me this comment the other day:

Amy, you and David inspire me to focus on stuff that is important instead of fixating on stupid things that don’t matter. You inspire me to seek ways to be a better person and help the world around me. Two days from now I am donating blood in honour of David…..

How amazing is that? I am honored to have such incredible friends. She’s right, of course, David is inspiring. He has inspired me to write. To seek and make friends with other families in similar situations. He has inspired me to want to make a difference in this life, not just coast through it. This whole experience has changed my outlook on a lot of things.

Material items for one. I’ve lived like a virtual monk for the past 5 months – I have very few personal items with me. My iPod, my laptop, a couple changes of clothes, 1 pair of shoes, 1 purse, some basic toiletry items.  Sure I can watch a movie if I feel like or find a book to read, but I’m without an entire houseful of things, that quite honestly – I don’t miss. (okay, I miss my sewing machine)

I wonder what it will be like to finally go home and be surrounded by the all the stuff that once defined me. I wonder how the family will react to the de-cluttering that I know will need to take place.

I recently had a conversation with another dear friend that centered around kids and taking the risk, after having one child affected by citrullinemia, to go on and have more kids. Is it fair to the other children and family members? Is it fair to the child? I wondered if it’s not so much about the child and the issues they may have, but about what that child has to teach everyone around them.

I know, right? My wisdom shocks even me. Seriously though, in that one statement, I can see clearly what I need to take with me from this experience.  David is teaching me how to be a better person, mother, friend. How to reach out to others and offer what support I can.

And that my friends, is what inspiration truly is.

Categories: Life | Tags: , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Inspiration

  1. This is one way God takes seemingly bad situations and is able to redeem them for our good. David has inspired you, and you in turn have inspired countless others. Thank you for not letting this opportunity go to waste.

    I would totally donate blood today if I could, but at 35 wks pregnant they won’t let me. Know that I am with you in spirit. xoxo

  2. I don’t think that there’s any right or wrong in this regards. You are a remarkable person on a tough journey. I wish you all the luck in the world!

  3. sharon

    You and your whole family are a wonderful inspiration to us all – to take what is given and never give up making the very best of every minute of it. There may have been tears on your journey (and maybe there could be more to come) but there has been, and will always be unalloyed love, strength and joy.

    xoxoxox

  4. A little more than an hour to go… I am drinking my gross tomato juice to give my iron levels one last boost! Capt. Snuggles is indeed the definition of inspiration, and you, Amy, are the definition of courage. I think you are amazing, and it my honour to donate blood on behalf of that beautiful baby!
    Kirsten

  5. Great post, sweet friend. I can’t even begin to tell you the ways you’ve inspired me. Read him a story Pooh story in celebration today. 😀

  6. My journey to motherhood has taken much away that I wish I could step up and help others, not in words, but physically giving. So, as all those people donate blood in honor of Capt. Snuggles, know that I wish I were there to donate, but can’t. Please know that you have inspired me to be strong throughout all that I have been through and decided to get it out and just share. It really has made me stronger, now what in the world is going to happen with all these new found strong females in the world. Wanna rule the world with me, hahahahah – LOL, just kidding, but I feel I can’t do almost anything I put my mind to. We can make plans later, but keep taking good care of Capt. Snuggles and we can rule later, maybe even meet, LOL. Have a great day, God bless.

  7. I feel I CAN do almost anything I put my mind to

  8. Can I still do this, can I donate blood here in Michigan and will he get it?? I am an O positive blood type and my husband is O negative. We want to help. Can you let me know what I need to do, I really want to do this, I want to help your little guy. I am praying for David and your family. Please let me know what I can do 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

