A reminder about Inspiration

I posted this on 1/20, 4 days prior to losing Capt Snuggles. I hold on to the fact that he was and still is, an inspiration to everyone that came across our humble story. I am honored and blessed that I was chosen to be his mama and thus the most inspired of all. Thank you for allowing me to share Capt Snuggles with each and every one of you.

Inspiration:

a) the action or power of moving the intellect or emotion

b) the act of influencing or suggesting opinions

c) the quality or state of being inspired

d) Captain Snuggles

Inspiration

Today is the day.

Today kicks off a number of blood drives and individual blood donations. Today is the day that friends around North America will start donating blood in honor of Capt Snuggles.

It brings tears to my eyes, to think that so many people have been affected by David’s story. That so many people are willing to take time out of their busy lives to do a good deed, in honor of someone they’ve never even met.  That in itself is inspiration. My friend Kirsten, who is leading the Canadian contingent with her blood donation today, left me this comment the other day:

Amy, you and David inspire me to focus on stuff that is important instead of fixating on stupid things that don’t matter. You inspire me to seek ways to be a better person and help the world around me. Two days from now I am donating blood in honour of David…..

How amazing is that? I am honored to have such incredible friends. She’s right, of course, David is inspiring. He has inspired me to write. To seek and make friends with other families in similar situations. He has inspired me to want to make a difference in this life, not just coast through it. This whole experience has changed my outlook on a lot of things.

Material items for one. I’ve lived like a virtual monk for the past 5 months – I have very few personal items with me. My iPod, my laptop, a couple changes of clothes, 1 pair of shoes, 1 purse, some basic toiletry items.  Sure I can watch a movie if I feel like or find a book to read, but I’m without an entire houseful of things, that quite honestly – I don’t miss. (okay, I miss my sewing machine)

I wonder what it will be like to finally go home and be surrounded by the all the stuff that once defined me. I wonder how the family will react to the de-cluttering that I know will need to take place.

I recently had a conversation with another dear friend that centered around kids and taking the risk, after having one child affected by citrullinemia, to go on and have more kids. Is it fair to the other children and family members? Is it fair to the child? I wondered if it’s not so much about the child and the issues they may have, but about what that child has to teach everyone around them.

I know, right? My wisdom shocks even me. Seriously though, in that one statement, I can see clearly what I need to take with me from this experience.  David is teaching me how to be a better person, mother, friend. How to reach out to others and offer what support I can.

And that my friends, is what inspiration truly is.

For those of you who are interested in celebrating David’s Inspiration with us:

Visitation will be from 12:00 – 1:00 pm on Thursday, January 27, 2011

at Edgington Funeral Home

138 E Main

Hillsboro, OH

Followed immediately by the Funeral at 1pm

Everyone is welcome to join us for lunch at our home following the funeral.

Amy & James Hillis

315 S Elm St

Hillsboro, OH 45133

David’s obituary may be viewed at Edgington Funeral Homes

Cards and notes are appreciated. If you are unable to spend time with us but would like to make a memorial donation, please direct all donations to:

Ronald McDonald House Charities

350 Erkenbrecher Ave

Cincinnati, OH 45229

RMHC

Categories: Life | Tags: , , , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “A reminder about Inspiration

  1. Sairah

    Wishing I could be there! Love from Maryland! Still thinking of you and you are right, both you and David are an inspiration!

    -Sairah

  2. Amy, I really, really wish I could be there. I even looked into flights but there’s no way I can make it work. But I will be there in spirit, and I am here for you always.
    Know this, that my blood donation that day was not a one-time thing. I pledge to you, and to Capt.Snuggles, that I will go and give my pint of blood every 59 days. The Captain, through his inspiration, will save many lives.
    Lots of love and hugs,
    Kirsten

  3. Amy, Thinking of you today and praying you will experience God’s peace. One of my favorite Bible passages is this one from the Psalms: “The LORD is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.” May that be a reality for you and your family today and in the days to come.

  4. Amy, I was in tears when I read this then, and again in tears now. You and your children truely are an inspiration to me. I have shared your story with my family and though they aren’t bloggers My Fiance’ even asked about you last night, and my mother-in-law said her heart and prayers go out to you and your family. You truely are one of the strongest ladies I’ve met in heart, and faith. Thinking of you today.

  5. Love your post on inspiration. So many moms, people in general have a lot to learn from you. The inspiration is mind-blowing. So glad to know you and read your thoughts. They are helping me grow. 🙂

    Veronica

  6. wendy

    My thoughts and prayers continue to be with your family this week. Your story has touched my heart and your Cap’t Snuggles has touched the lives of many through your posts. May the Lord bless you and be with you as you go through the next few days.

  7. Sending you love and light and thoughts of healing.

    Capt. Snuggles inspired quite a legacy.

  8. Shawna (momofbug)

    I am so very sorry for your loss. I cannot imagine letting my Bug go, and I know that your pain is tremendous right now. I have a blood donor appointment Feb 24, and will be thinking of Captain Snuggles the whole time.
    Love, peace, hugs and strength to you,
    Shawna

  9. Patty

    Amy, I just read your blog tonight for the first time since Saturday. I am so sorry for the emptiness you must be feeling now. You did everything possible for him and allowed each one of us to love and pray for David through your daily blogs. May the Lord be with you throughout the day tomorrow as you say your goodbyes. Many of us lurkers would love to be there and want you to know that we will be praying for the strength you will need. I just know the Lord is going to use David’s life in so many ways. He already has used David to touch so many lives. Thank you for sharing him with each of us.

  10. sharon

    I will be cheering on all those able to give blood wherever they live. It’s a wonderful gift. Unfortunately I cannot join them as Australia will not allow people who lived in the UK for more than 6 months to donate blood because of the BSE risk.

    However today I will be thinking of you all as you celebrate David’s life and the inspiration you and he have spread all over the world.

    xoxox

  11. Wow, you are such an inspiration to parents everywhere! To people who are living life. Life isn’t always what we plan but how we handle it is everything. We recently won The Stylish Blogger Award and now we are passing it onto you! You truly deserve it. Thanks for letting us all in to your world. A world of inspiration, pain, joy, gratitude and courage. You may not feel like passing it on right now and that’s ok. Take your time.
    Sending lot’s of love to you and your family.
    Namaste, Carol & Stacy
    Here’s the award details: http://www.intentionalconsciousparenting.com/2011/01/we-won-stylish-blogger-award.html

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

