Things Left Unsaid

I want to thank everyone that came to celebrate David. Some dropped in for just a few minutes, others stayed for the whole service. Still others sent messages, cards, flowers and donations. I am blessed beyond words by your love and support, each and every one of you, thank you.

For those of you who did not get to stay for the service, it was truly a celebration. While we do not belong to a church, my Hub did contact a Pastor friend of his and asked him to speak. He came and talked with us for a couple hours on Tuesday evening and he spent time getting to know Capt Snuggles through the reading of my words.

He incorporated music, personal reflections and Bible verses. He also read my letter to Capt Snuggles. While he chose several beautiful songs, he chose one song in particular that simply broke me. I’ll do for you what he did for us – he read these lyrics and then he played the song. Read the words, listen to the music. The song is by Disciple, a Christian Rock Band.

You will need kleenex.

Things Left Unsaid

It’s just a matter of time a few days ago
I saw you, you were fine
Remembering what you said
About the book you read
The one I got you
The Beginning of the End
Oh how we’d talk
For hours upon end
What I would give
Just to do it again
But you’re lying there
In this hospital bed
Won’t you open your eyes
And let’s talk once again

(CHORUS)
If you fly away tonight
I want to tell you that I love you
I hope that you can hear me
I hope that you can feel me
If you fly away tonight
I want to tell you that I’m sorry
That I never told you
When we were face to face

Well I’ve been here all night
And I’m watching you
Breathe in and breathe out
Is it really you
Or just a machine
That’s giving you life
And it’s making it seem
That there could be hope
I could say to your face
If it weren’t for you
That there would be no grace
That’s covered my life
You took the time
To speak into my mind
And my heart
Words of life

(CHORUS)

So goodbye for now
And I’ll see you again
Some way, somehow
When it’s my time to go
to the other side
I’ll hold you again
And melt at your smile
Now all I have
Are the ones that I’m with
And you taught me not
To take for granted
The time that we have
To show that we care
Speak into their minds
And their hearts
While they’re here
And say I love you

(Chorus)

Listen to it : Things Left Unsaid




Categories: Life | Tags: , , , , , , | 19 Comments

Post navigation

19 thoughts on “Things Left Unsaid

  1. dysfunctionalsupermom

    Sobbing.

  2. You’re right. I need Kleenex.

  3. It amazes me that you are still capable of writing. Your strength is admirable, and my thoughts are with you and your family.

  4. That’s such a touching song! Very deep and emotional! Hope your well and staying strong! Thinking of u always, sending love and prayers! God Bless!!

  5. EnfantsDoc

    So sorry I missed the service. When I left at 1 I thought the visitation was over and didn’t want to impose by staying any longer. What a deeply touching song! My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family, always. Much love,

  6. Crying my eyes out, wish I could have been there with you, for you.

  7. Jolie

    I have goosebumps from head to toe. I will think of Capt Snuggles and you every time I hear this song now. Thank you for sharing…everything. 🙂

  8. I woke up early this morning thinking of you–praying that God will give you wisdom and direction as you start a new chapter in your life. The days ahead will be tough; transition is never easy–nor is grief. Take it easy and give yourself time. I’m glad the service went well, and I hope you are comforted knowing that David is finally whole with no more pain or suffering. xoxo

  9. LindaSCollins

    Sobbing inside because I am at work. May God give you comfort during this time of such great loss.

  10. Beautiful. I’m thinking of you.

  11. Patty

    Dear Amy, your strength continues to amaze so many of us! It’s no wonder David was such a fighter. I’m sending you a package today with a few books that have really helped my niece following the loss of her daughter. They are for when you are ready to read. Continue to pray for healing for your whole family.

  12. I’ve been thinking of you daily since the day I found you. I was not with you through this journey, but I see you were not alone in it.
    I am crying and look forward to an update everyday you have strength to post. Since I found you, I have “caught up” through past posts. I want you to know, I am thinking of you today.

  13. mooney=mc2

    Always here for you. Anytime.

    Thinking of you and your entire family.
    {hugs}

    Mindy

  14. Was there in spirit – wish I could have been there in person. Last night, my David (8 yo) ended his prayers with “Say hi to the baby David for me.” He’s touched my entire family.

    Much love,
    Amy

  15. Tonya Fisher

    Amy,
    I couldn’t have chosen a better song myself, so beautiful. I agree with others that your strength is truly admirable. I just know David is looking down on you and telling Jesus how proud he is of his mommy, how her heart is so pure and her love so deep, giving up everything for him, just as Christ did. David is telling Jesus he isn’t worried about you, his Daddy or his brothers because he knows God has you all his hands with his strong arms around you…that Jesus will lead the way even in the pain. That you will have answers one day and see him again with smiles all over. 🙂 God loves David, you and your family so much even when he may seem so far away right now. Fall and rest in His arms in those days you feel you can’t stand, he WILL ease your pain in time. Praying for you all everyday. (((Hugs, squeeze, hugs, squeeze)))
    Love,
    Tonya

  16. Amy – our hearts and prayers are with you and your family during this very difficult time. I am in awe of your strength. I can only imagine that nothing can take away your pain and the emptiness in your heart – however – I hope that you can find some comfort in knowing that David is at peace, he was greeted by his brother and all UCD angels that have passed before him, and he is watching over you and just waiting for the day when you will be able to hold him in your arms again.

    Amy – Mother of Mitchell – Diagnosed with a UCD in 2008

  17. sharon

    Beautiful words.

    xox

  18. Meagan

    Amy, I’m so sorry I was unable to make it to the service. I’m sure your family was surrounded with all the special people in your and David’s life.

    There was a song I wanted to suggest to you. It helped me get through a tragedy of my past and the lyrics alone are great. I always loved your taste in music, from David’s lullaby playlist to the playlist you would play during the day. I think you may like this as well. Diamond Rio is the artist and the song is “I believe”. Enjoy and keep his memory alive with you.

  19. dynajo

    Amy,
    Prayers continuing as you try to get back to some type of normal life without your Captain Snuggles. I was with you all in spirit and thought during the services. God opened his arms to David and welcomed him home. David’s short time here is done, but what a story he left you with.
    Julie

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

