Sugarplum Dreams

Wrapping paper strewn all over the floor, tape and stickers stuck to my shirt, I place the last wrapped present under the tree. What a mess to clean up before I can head to bed. I shake my head trying to gather the strength to clean it up.

I munch on the last of the cookies, toss the reindeer carrots back in the frig and gulp down the room-temperature milk.

I can barely keep my eyes open. I can’t believe another year has come and gone and I still haven’t learned to wrap the Christmas presents before Christmas Eve.

3am? Really?

*sigh*

Such an ordeal to get everything wrapped, just so the minions can rip them open in a few hours. One of these years, I’ll learn not to buy so much crap.

It’s not like they appreciate the effort of the elf who does all the wrapping, hiding, finagling of finances so they can get the latest and greatest toys.

Tired and cranky, my own damn fault, I suppose. I’m glad it’s done and over with. At least, for another year.

The tree does look pretty, though. The lights softly lighting up the living room. The multitudes of presents pouring  out from underneath.

Not bad, not bad at all.

Just need to hang up Jonathan’s stocking and what was that? I stop in my tracks and listen.

Footsteps.

I step away from the stocking just as Jacob walks sleepily into the room.

What’s the matter, Jakey?

I heard a noise, Mommy…..it woke me up, I was scared.

Come on, I’m sure it was nothing, let’s get you back in bed.

As I try to re-direct away from the tree, I realize I’m too late.

Mommy – LOOK at the presents, mommy, mommy, it was SANTA!

shhh, Jakey, you’ll wake your brother, come on, let’s go sit in the chair.

But, mommy, LOOK – the cookies are gone!

Crap, as I wipe my face for stray cookie crumbs, I scoop him up and settle in the rocking chair.

As I rock, he asks in his small sleepy voice, Do you think it was the reindeers that woke me up?

Jakey, I’m going to tell you a secret, promise you won’t tell your brother?

I promise, mommy, pinky promise, mommy.

Alright, pinky promise – Santa was here, Jakey, I had to let him in.

Really, mommy? Breathy with sleepy wonder

Of course, you didn’t think he really came down the chimney, did you?

I don’t know, mommy…yawn….did you talk to him, mommy?

Rocking slowly.

Nope, I just let him in and sat right here, you’re not allowed to talk to him or watch him put the presents under the tree.

Rocking, rocking.

wh..why, mommy? his eyes almost closed.

Rocking, rocking.

Because, he has so many presents to deliver, he doesn’t have time to sit and chat with everyone.

Will I ever get to see him, mommy?

Rocking, Rocking.

Sure, when you have kids of your own, you’ll have to let him in your house, just like I did.

Wrapping the blanket snuggly around the two of us.

I love Santa, mommy, I can’t wait to open my presents.

Looking down as he drifts off to sleep, one chubby hand resting on my arm, the other wrapped around his stuffed cat.

Me neither, Jakey, me neither.

Today’s post was written in response to The Red Dress Club‘s memoir writing meme assignment. “After you have died, your daughter/son will be given the gift of seeing a single five-minute period of your life through your eyes, feeling and experiencing those moments as you did when they occurred. What five minutes would you have him/her see?


Categories: Life | Tags: , , , , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Sugarplum Dreams

  1. Adorable! I agree though, how could anyone possibly think that Santa could slide down the chimney with all of those gifts! Good job being quick to think of that!

  2. Beautiful story. I remember my mother telling us about Santa it was a magical time for us as I am sure it is for your little ones.

  3. Ha! Nice dodge and great thinking on your feet! There is that beautiful moment on Christmas Eve, when everything is quiet and memories become inevitable that you did a beautiful job of not only capturing but creating.

  4. I love that… so precious. What a memory to share with your son as he grows up and maybe will have started a tradition in some ways as well. Loved it!

  5. That is lovely and he will tell his own children that he had to let Santa in the door 🙂 Jen

  6. That was so sweet. Made me want to cry. Kids are the best! Thanks for sharing.

  7. Leighann

    That was adorable!!

  8. I loved this, so nice to see this side of your writing. Beautifully done.

  9. sharon

    What a wonderful few minutes that must have been. Thank you for sharing it.

    xoxox

  10. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

