And so it begins.

First, let me just say, I am in awe. In awe of the outpouring of love and support from the blogosphere.  Consider yourselves hugged. All of you. Even you folks that just lurk and don’t comment, yes I know you’re out there. I have amazing friends, Mindy and Kirsten, and to everyone who took to FB and Twitter, thank you, thank you, thank you.

I’d like to think the crackle of energy in here over night, was just my imagination – but when the nurse commented to me how ‘different’ our room felt from the others.  I knew. I knew each and every one of you was sending us all the bright and shiny, positive energy you could muster.

Thank you Sir and May I have another?

Because Captain Snuggles is not out of the woods by any means. In fact he’s very, very far from it.  They uttered that dirty word ‘septic’ this morning in rounds and all I can ever think of  when I hear that word, is dirty, toxic sludge swirling around,  poisoning him.

ugh. It gives me the willies just thinking about it. *shivers*

His condition is tenuous. While he was relatively stable this morning, maybe a bit worse with some blood work and vitals, maybe a bit better with how his skin looks. This afternoon he’s worse. His blood pressures are running low, he’s been dropping his oxygen a bit, his kidney’s are not happy and overall he’s acting sicker today than yesterday. He’s been given blood and platelets and they’re discussing plasma. He’s getting cidofovir and IVIG and possibly adding another antibiotic, if his vitals don’t improve.

His lungs, in particular are acting up. His blood gases are pretty crappy right now. They’ve given him sodium bicarb because he’s acidotic, if that doesn’t help, they will go up on his ventilator settings.

*sigh*

These are the things the doctors warned me about.The beginning of all things bad.

His adeno counts just came back at 4 million, down from 5 million yesterday and 15 million the day before.

*sigh of relief*

A little bit of bright and shiny to brighten our way through of the forest.


Categories: Life | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “And so it begins.

  1. dysfunctionalsupermom

    Any good news is BIG, BRIGHT & VERY SHINY!

    We will not stop sending good energy and praying and thinking positive thoughts, because you and David need to be home. Love you girl.

  2. I found you on twitter– don’t ask me how– because for a smart person I know very little about Twitter. It is new to me. I read your story and I guess I was supposed to stumble upon you somehow because one of the things my Foundation does is sends Care Packages to kids & their families with serious illnesses or long hospital stays. We would love to send something to your family. If you can send a name & address to the e-mail above.

    One of the main things Mitzvah Circle Foundation does is walk with people from darkness to light–in so many different ways. You have lots of people for support and maybe you can use one more.

    Sending strength your way.

  3. God has his angles with David and the Love and prayers r the power that u feel in the rom, I have been thinking of u and David all night and hoping things improve! You have alot of love and support with u! God Bless Hun!!*hugs*

  4. Yup, I put on my FB too, and the response in my email is just mind boggling. I have friends that don’t like publicity so they send me private messages. We are with you. Hang in there, keep your spirits high. The masses are praying for your family.

  5. beingmekirrily

    There’s a lot of positive love going around the blogosphere at the moment and it renews my faith continually in the power of positive thought and prayerful hope. This is good news to see today. Good luck xo

  6. I left you a message somewhere, on twitter I think. Because of timezone differences I might be around at odd times when not many of your circle are online, always make sure to shout out at me for a chat. Jen.

  7. Pingback: Tweets that mention And so it begins. | transplanted thoughts -- Topsy.com

  8. Patty

    Continuing to pray for both David and you Amy! Will post to FB. Wishing I could do more. Praying that the folks at the Ronald McDonald house are able to lend some support for those of us who are so far away but with you in spirit. Praying that the Lord will give you strength to face one day at a time.

    Patty

  9. Amy, you and David are constantly in my thoughts. Every update from you is anxiously awaited; every snippet of good news is cause for celebration. Continue to feel the love and support and positiveness that is coming your way. You are amazing and inspirational, and David is such a bundle of courage. I believe that miracles can and do happen.

  10. Maryellen

    Kirsten’s FB post yesterday sent me to your blog yesterday and again today. I’m praying for you all and sending lots and lots of good thoughts.

    Hugs and love.

  11. Shelly Lowe

    Thank you Mindy for posting this. Thank you Amy for sharing your story!! I have been following your story. I pray every day for you and David!! Will continue to do so!!!

  12. (((HUGS))) and PRAYERS are with you and your little guys… Especially Captain Snuggles in his time of need!

  13. Tonya

    Praying right now for you both. (squeezing you with hugs!)

  14. A little light will hopefully turn into an even bigger brighter shining star for you. Sending love and light your way always x

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.